Going ‘Social Media Free’ seems to have gained a romantic notion as of late. Silencing the clutter in your life, dimming all the noise and having a stress-free existence? Sounds wonderful. Several people I know have recently given up social media all together (gasp!) – and all for different reasons. For some, this may be an incomprehensible thought; you wake up, check Instagram, log on to Facebook and then check your Twitter feed. I have girlfriends that reference Pinterest daily for ideas on what to make for dinner and others that post their business-related articles religiously to LinkedIn.

However, for the segment of our population that doesn’t spend every waking breath wondering if they’ve gotten more likes, followers or friends on their various social media platforms, it’s a breath of fresh air. It’s a piece of privacy reinstated and one less thing to worry about in their hectic lives littered with emails, calls, texts and endless priorities.

So, if you fall in to this category or, if you have recently tried to join the world of social media and realized it’s just not for you, I’ve outlined a simple step-by-step rundown of how to delete your Twitter account, once and for all! Soon, the days of trying to keep up with every Tom, Dick and Harry that’s Tweeting from sun up to sundown will be over.

How to Delete Your Twitter Account

How To Deactivate Your Twitter Account

  1. Log in to your Twitter account
  2. Click on your profile avatar, located in the top right corner of the page
  3. Click on “Settings”
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the screen. In the middle, click “Deactivate my account” – it is written in small, blue letters
  5. Next, simply click the large blue “Deactivate” button

Now, Twitter will only retain your account data for 30 days. At any point, if you change your mind about leaving Twitter, all you have to do is log back in. This will reactivate your account with all of your pictures, tweets, followers and messages. After the 30-day period however, all of your information is permanently deleted.

 

Changing Your Twitter Handle

Now, if you’re deactivating your Twitter in order to simply create a new profile, there’s a quicker route. The option to change your Twitter handle (your username) is broken down below:

  1. TwitterGo back to the “settings” page
  2. At the very top you can change your Username to your new desired Twitter handle
  3. Scroll to the bottom of your screen and click on “Save changes” in the blue box
  4. You’ll then be prompted to re-enter your Twitter password in order to permanently save your changes
  5. After you’ve entered the proper password, you’re all done!

Twitter

Note: You can use this same process to change your Twitter account’s email address.

 

What’s Next?

If you don’t want to stop the madness at your Twitter account, mosey on over to our step-by-step process of How to Delete or Deactivate Your Facebook Profile. Just another step to simplifying and muting all of the noise around you. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Note: Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Let us take a peek at your site to review the key points that directly affect your online presence.

Fill out the form above or call 248.582.9210

Trademark Productions is a Google Partner
866.316.5832