If Facebook’s new Places features has you worrying about your security, we are here to help. Just follow our step-by-step instruction and you can opt out of Facebook Places.

  1. Go to your Facebook account’s “Privacy Settings.”
  2. Click “Customize settings” in the “Sharing on Facebook” section.
  3. Under “Things I share” click the option box next to “Include me in ‘People Here Now’ after I check in.”

You now have switched off the self check in for Places, but your Facebook friends still can. By turning off this feature you won’t have to worry about check-in requests.

  1. Go to your Facebook account’s “Privacy Settings.”
  2. Click “Customize settings” in the “Sharing on Facebook” section.
  3. Under “Things others share,” locate the option “Friends can check me into Places.”
  4. Select “Disable” from the list of options. You have now disabled this feature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read Related Posts